Nucleus SoundLab BFD Core released


Nucleus SoundLab has just released the BFD Core drum ReFill for Propellerhead Software’s Reason. They have teamed up with FXpansion and Reason sound designers to bring a high quality selection of drum and percussion hits from one of the best sound libraries around.

Here’s the breakdown of what’s included:

3.6GB of high-qualtiy FXpansion drum samples
16 Velocity Layers
3-5 Discrete Mic Positions
Alternate Sample Playback
57 NN-XT patches
7 Kicks
8 Snares
18 Toms
14 Cymbals
4 HiHats
6 Percussion Elements
75 Combinator drumkits
Lite version of all patches included
2200+ MIDI drum loops

If you are in need of high quality drums for your music then I would highly recommend this Refill!
Each sound designer has carefully crafted each kit so that it fits into your productions with little or no effort whatsoever.
From hard hitting rock drums, reggae, pop to film-scores there’s plenty to get your compositions sounding professional and much more natural. I’m not great at programming percussion so having 2200+ midi files included is a great feature too.

BFD Core is compatible with Reason 6+ however the included NN-XT patches will open in Reason 3 onwards.

So, what drum kit samples are included in BFD Core??

Paiste 2002 18 Crash
Paiste 2002 20 Crash
Paiste Ride 22
Sabian Crash AAX 14
Sabian Splash HH 10
Wuhan Chinese 12
Zildjian Crash A 16
Zildjian Crash K Custom 22
Zildjian Crash Z Custom Med 16
Zildjian Cym A Custom 17
Zildjian Ride Breakbeat 18
Zildjian Ride Flat 22
Zildjian Ride Old K 22
Zildjian Ride Z Custom 22

Paiste HiHat 2002 Heavy 14
Sabian Hihat AA 14
Zildjian Hihat A Custom Dark 15
Zildjian Hihat Z Custom 15

DW Collectors Kick
Gretsch Kick
Ludwig Vistalite Kick
Orange County Kick
Pearl Masterworks Kick
Pork Pie Kick
Rogers XP8 Kick

Bleuifuss Snare
DW Black Mirra Snare
Ludwig Black Beauty Snare
Ludwig Supraphonic 400 Snare
Orange County Snare
Pearl Piccolo Snare
Slingerland Snare
Trick Snare

DW Collectors Floor Tom
DW Collectors Hi Tom
DW Collectors Mid Tom 2
DW Collectors Mid Tom
Ludwig Black Oyster Floor Tom
Ludwig Black Oyster Hi Tom
Ludwig Vistalite Floor Tom 1
Ludwig Vistalite Floor Tom 2
Ludwig Vistalite Mid Tom
Orange County Floor Tom
Orange County Hi Tom
Orange County Mid Tom
Pearl Masterworks Floor Tom
Pearl Masterworks Hi Tom
Pearl Masterworks Mid Tom
Rogers XP8 Floor Tom
Rogers XP8 Hi Tom
Rogers XP8 Mid Tom

Misc Percussion:
Blue Jam Block Stick
Cabasa Metal
Cowbell Medium
Group Claps
Red Jam Block Stick

I think that Nucleus SoundLab has included quite a selection, I would have liked to have seen a few more sounds included like brushes and maybe some more hand percussion but I think that value and especially quality wins out over quantity.

The sounds themselves feature multiple mic positions and velocity layers contained in Reasons NN-XT sampler which features alternate sample playback so you almost never hear the exact same sounds play back in succession.

The Combinators feature various kits programmed by NSL’s team of talented sound designers to cover a wide variety of styles and genres and they are huge! Be warned as the Multi output Combinator patches use a lot of ram, but thankfully there are Lite versions of all patches so that if you have below 4gb of ram you are still able to make use of this wonderful Refill.
You can always roll your own kits anyway with the 57 included NN-XT patches.

So what do I think of this Refill?? I’m quite simply amazed at the attention of detail that has gone into creating every single one of the patches, it sounds so good and to have a fine selection of BFD drums in Reason is quite simply astonishing.

Well done all involved!! I can’t wait to see if anymore collaborations between NSL and FXpansion are going to happen.

Pricing isn’t bad either because for a limited time it’s only $69 CAD(intro price until December 5th 2012) Regular price $99. Click Here to visit Nucleus SoundLab


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s